The Hurst Water Meadow Trust

Who we are

We are a charity, and our objectives are:

  • to preserve, conserve and protect the meadow, its wildlife and their habitats, for the benefit of the public
  • to advance public education in, and understanding of, the ecology of the meadow
  • to provide for the safe enjoyment and recreational use of the meadow by the public.

Please click here to see how we aim to implement these objectives.

Our trustees are all local and selected to provide needed skills and experience.

Louise Aukland (Education)
Graham Beland (Land management/volunteer co-ordinator)
Richard Farrant (Chairman)
Chris Hill (Parish Council representative)
Gillian Johnson (Honorary Secretary)
John Metcalfe (Ecology)
Shammy Puri (Eco-hydrology)
Roger Seabrook (Honorary Treasurer)
Chris Smith (Land management /volunteer co-ordinator)
Mike Southon (Land management/volunteer co-ordinator)

We maintain records, including data about our supporters, with policies to protect their confidentiality (privacy statement pdf)
We do have by-laws for the site. Please click here for a download of the local rules.
We care about vulnerable people and this is our policy.

We take great care of the donations and grants we receive. We produce annual reviews and annual reports with accounts. We do hold past year accounts – if you would like to see any of these please contact us.

If you need to get in touch please email in the first instance to:
Hon. Secretary: Gillian Johnson
24 Manor Farm Road, Dorchester-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, OX10 7HZ.
Tel: 01865 340925